Skip to Main Content

To get a Florida Learner’s Permit you must:

  • Be at least 15 years old
  • Pass a vision test
  • Complete a DHSMV-approved Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education Course (4hr Drug and Alcohol Course)
    • A list of FLHSMV-approved course providers can be found online
  • Pass the Class E knowledge exam either through:
    • Driver’s education
    • Online (only those under the age of 18 are eligible to take the knowledge exam online)
      • Find more info at the FLHSMV’s website
    • At any Pinellas County tax collector location except the Courthouse in downtown Clearwater
      • In-office knowledge exams have a 60-minute time limit and are limited to two attempts per day
      • The tax collector fee to set up each customer for a test is $6.25
        • This fee is collected before the test begins and is charged only one time per office visit
      • The State of Florida charges $10.00 per test
        • This fee is collected after the test is over
        • The state waives this fee on the first attempt
      • Have one parent or legal guardian present or have their signature on a notarized Parental Consent Form if the applicant is under age 18
      • Have the signature of one parent or legal guardian on the Parent Proctoring Form if the knowledge exam was taken online
      • Be in good standing regarding school attendance policies
Back to top