Skip to Main Content

First-Time Applicants (Original CWL Licenses)

  • All original Florida concealed weapon license (CWL) applications are reviewed by the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (FDACS).
    • Our offices act as agents for that department and do not set fees or rules and regulations.
  • Original concealed weapon licenses will arrive by mail – they are not printed same-day in our office.
  • Prepare for your appointment! Make sure you have these items with you:
    • A picture ID,  driver license, or state-issued identification card 
    • A copy of a training document or other certificate that confirms that you are 
      proficient with a firearm
    • A personal check, cashier's check, or money order for payment
      • You may also pay by cash, credit card or debit card
        • Please note: If paying by credit card, our third-party payment processor, Grant Street Group, will charge a convenience fee of 2.95% of the transaction total with a minimum of $2.50.
    • If you have ever been arrested, you should bring with you certified copies of the court documentation reflecting the final disposition of the charge(s) filed against you
    • If you were born outside the United States, or if you are a permanent legal resident alien, you will need to bring official documentation with you that confirms your citizenship status.
  • Check the status of your completed application by calling (850) 245-5691 and selecting option 1 or you can check it online.

Renewals

  • Concealed weapon license renewals with no changes are printed the same day in our office.   
  • Approximately 95 days before the expiration date of your license, the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services will send you a renewal notice.
  • You must be within 90 days of your expiration date in order to renew at one of our offices.
  • You may mail you renewal notice with payment to the address listed on the notice or you may renew with same-day printing at our office with an appointment.
  • If you fail to renew your CWL by its expiration date it can be renewed up to 6 months beyond the expiration date in accordance with section 790.06(11)(a), Florida Statutes.
    • There is a late fee of $15.
    • A concealed weapon license that has been expired for longer than six months cannot be renewed. If you fail to renew within the six-month period after expiration, you will have to apply for an original license. 

Prepare for your renewal appointment! Bring the following:

      • Your Florida concealed weapon license, concealed weapon license number, or concealed weapon license renewal notice
      • A photo ID – Florida driver license or ID card
      • Legal change of name documentation if applicable
        • e., marriage certificate, court records, etc.
        • Our offices can process the name change for your CWL but we cannot print the renewal. It will be mailed to you.

Out-of-State Concealed Weapon License

  • Florida recognizes concealed weapon license issued by other states if the other states agrees to reciprocate Florida Concealed weapon licenses. 
    • If your Concealed Weapon License reciprocates with Florida, you may still use it until it expires, even if you become a Florida resident.
    • Read more about state-to-state reciprocity.
  • Once your reciprocated out-of-state license expires, you will need to apply for a Florida concealed weapon license.
  • If your out-of-state license is NOT reciprocated, you will need to apply for a Florida concealed weapon license.

Replacements

**The Pinellas County Tax Collector cannot process replacement concealed weapons licenses. 

Fees

FEE SCHEDULE
CONCEALED WEAPON OR FIREARM: SECTION 790.06, FLORIDA STATUTES

LICENSE TYPE

Fingerprint Processing Fee

Initial License Fee

Tax Collector Original Fee

 

Original Total

Renewal License Fee

Tax Collector Renewal Fee

 

Renewal Total

Concealed Weapon or Firearm Florida Resident

$42

$55

$22

$119

$45*

$12

 

 

Concealed Weapon or Firearm Out of State Resident

 

$42

 

$55

 

$22

 

$119

$87*

(includes

$42 fingerprint processing

fee}

 

$12

 

$99

FLORIDA Law

Enforcement Officer,

ACTIVE

NONE

 

$22

 

$45*

$12

 

FLORIDA Law

Enforcement Officer, RETIRED within preceding year FLORIDA Law

Enforcement Officer, RETIRED more than one year

 

NONE

 

$42

 

NONE

 

$30

 

$22

 

$22

 

$22

 

$94

 

$30*

 

$30*

 

$12

 

$12

 

$42

 

$42

Consular Security Official

NONE

$300

$22

$322

$300

$12

$312

Judge, Active

Refer to DOL

Refer to DOL

Refer to DOL

Refer to DOL

Refer to DOL

Refer to DOL

Refer to DOL

*All late renewals are charged an additional $15.00.

You may also visit the Division of Licensing Website for more information.

 

Law Enforcement & Military

  • Retired Florida Law Enforcement
    • If you are retired Florida law enforcement officer, correctional officer, or correctional probation officer, you must bring a copy of an official document that shows the date of your retirement and the name of the public agency from which you retired.
    • Note that Florida law does not extend this fee exemption to federal law enforcement retirees or law enforcement retirees from other states.

 

  • Active Florida Law Enforcement Required Documentation
    • You must bring an official letter on agency letterhead stating that you are currently employed with that agency as a law enforcement officer, correctional officer, or correctional probation officer. The letter must be signed by the agency head, the agency’s authorized representative, or the agency’s personnel officer.

 

  • Expedited Service for Active Military Members and Veterans
    • Our office is proud to assist with the expediting of Florida concealed weapon license applications for active military members and veterans.
    • Bring a copy of your Common Access Card or another form of official military identification to our office for your appointment.
      • We also accept a copy of service members’ current orders as proof of active duty status.
      • Honorably discharged veterans should bring a copy of their DD 214 long form.

Locations

We offer concealed weapon license services at both ends of the county:

         SOUTH COUNTY CWL HOURS:

         Mondays: 8:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.
         Tuesdays: CLOSED
         Wednesdays: 8:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.
         Thursdays: CLOSED
         Fridays: 8:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.

 

         NORTH COUNTY CWL HOURS:


         Mondays: CLOSED
         Tuesdays: 8:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.
         Wednesdays: CLOSED
         Thursdays: 8:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.
         Fridays: CLOSED

 

Schedule an appointment with us OR apply for or renew online or by mail. After you have applied online, you can schedule an appointment with the Pinellas County Sheriff’s Office for fingerprinting services.

 

IMPORTANT:

  • Our offices process original and renewal applications only – no replacements. For replacements of lost or stolen concealed weapon licenses, please contact the Department of Agriculture.
  • Our offices do not do photos or fingerprinting for applications started elsewhere.

FAQ

Are there discounts for active or retired Florida law enforcement employees? 

 

Can I change my address on my concealed weapons license at your office? 

  • No, you will need to contact the FDACS (Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services) directly to notify them of your change of address.

 

Can I get a duplicate of my concealed weapons license at your office? 

 

Can I renew my concealed weapon license at your office? 

  • Yes, schedule an appointment to renew your CWL license with us.
    • You may renew up to 95 days prior to your expiration or up to 180 days after your expiration with a $15.00 late fee.
  • A concealed weapons license that has been expired more than 180 days cannot be renewed; an application for a new license must be made.  

 

Can I use an expired passport or picture ID to apply for a concealed weapons license? 

  • No, documents must be valid at the time of your application. 

 

Can I use my fingerprint card when I visit your office to apply for a concealed weapons license? 

  • No, fingerprint cards may only be used when applying by mail. 

 

When I come into an office for my appointment, can I bring my own passport photo to use for my concealed weapons license?

  • No, passport photos may only be used when applying by mail. We will take your photo at during your appointment.  

 

How does the concealed weapons license renewal process work at your office? 

  • First, make sure you bring the required documents:
    • Concealed weapon license number or renewal notice
    • State-issued photo ID (must have date of birth and full name)
    • If applicable – any legal name change documentation (however, we cannot print the renewal in office if you have a name change – your renewal will be sent by mail)
  • Next, we help you with the application, take your photo, and submit everything to the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services for electronic approval
  • If there are no issues name changes needed, you walk out of our office with your renewal card!

 

How long will it take for the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (FDACS) to process my concealed weapon license application? 

  • By Law, FDACS has 90 days from the date your application is submitted to process it. 
  • You can check the status of your completed application by calling (850) 245-5691 and selecting option 1 or check the status online

 

How long will it take to complete the concealed weapons license application process? 

  • The entire process should be completed in an hour or less. 

 

Is my personal information protected and exempt from public record if I apply for a concealed weapons license in person at your office? 

  • Due to Florida laws, all personal identifying information of applicants and licensees will continue to be confidential and exempt from disclosure as public records. 

 

Is your office responsible for determining who is eligible to receive a concealed weapon license? 

  • No, our office acts as agents for the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (FDACS) and we are not responsible for determining eligibility. Visit the FDACS website for more info on eligibility requirements.

 

How does the in-office concealed weapons application work?

  • A representative will confirm your appointment and direct you to a computer station where you will complete an online application form – you do not need to complete this form in advance
  • Once completed we will assist in scanning your training documents, take your photograph, and electronically scan your fingerprints. 
  • Then, we submit your application to the Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services for review. If there are no issues, your original license will be sent via mail or a renewal will be issued in office that day.
Back to top